Himalayan Salt Lamp Review & Giveaway (US Only)

Thank you to the Himalayan Salt Shop for providing me with a Himalayan Salt Lamp, free of charge, for review.  These are my own honest opinions.

468x60

It is almost hard to decide where to begin with this review. First, I guess, I should start with a little bit about the company and the man behind it.

The Himalayan Salt Shop was founded in 2005 by Ernest Gaglione. He started this business in the basement of his home in Bloomfield, NJ. He sells the highest quality of salt and it is authentic Himalayan. Nothing fake. This stuff is real. Hundreds of millions of years real.

I know what you are thinking…”Stacy you have given us some far off and out there product reviews in the past but this takes the cake.” I kid you not readers. I appreciate and love you all too much to present a hoax or a scam of any kind to you. I read the material and did a little research online.  I hope that my review will do justice to this product. I am going to do my best to explain what it is, where it comes from and what it does. Let me show you a picture of a Himalayan Salt Crystal Lamp.

20130612_094610_wm

It’s pretty isn’t it? This one weighs 4-5 pounds. It has a wooden base attached to the bottom. It has been hollowed out to hold a light bulb.  When you turn on the lamp the salt warms. As it warms it emits negative ions that bond with the positive ions floating in the air. For example…dust and pollen. When the bond happens the positive ions become too heavy float and fall to the floor. The result…no dust and allergens floating around making you sneeze and cough.  Symptoms from asthma and other illnesses can also subside from the effects of the heated Himalayan Salt. The negative ions also combat the “electro-smog” in our homes and offices caused by all the electronic devices we use.

20130612_094538_wm

These lamps are made of natural crystal salt mined from underground salt mines in the foothills of the Himalayan Mountains. The Himalayas is a mountain range in Asia separating the plains of the Indian subcontinent  from the Tibetan Plateau. The Himalayan range is home to some of the planet’s highest peaks, including the highest, Mount Everest. Crystal salt has been forming there for hundreds of millions of years.

Himalayas_Map

The impact of negative ions is powerful one. Studies show the crystal salt to help improve sleep and ADHD symptoms. Originally, it was found  to speed recovery in burn and asthma patients, but was later discovered  to affect serotonin levels in the bloodstream, stabilize alpha rhythms, and to positively impact our reactions to sensory stimuli. It even kills airborne bacteria indoors.

When I saw this online and read about all the great things it claims I was intrigued. When my salt lamp came in the mail I thought I would put it in my bedroom but first I gave my room a complete dusting. My house is pretty tight so I don’t really have a lot of dust but I wanted to see how quickly it would accumulate on the dresser top around the lamp itself. Boy was I surprised. I plugged it in that evening and slept with it on. When I woke up the next morning there was a fine layer of dust all over the dresser. Normally it takes a week to get that much dust. So, in my opinion, it works. Now… I have no way of measuring the bacteria that is airborne in my home. To be honest it would probably make me paranoid to know. But, after reading all the scientific study material and seeing the dust that it brought down in one night in my own bedroom I do believe this Himalayan Salt Lamp does what they say it is supposed to do. The proof was really in the pudding when I decided to move it to my sons bedroom. My son is a sneezer. A sleep and first thing in the morning sneezer. When I put this in his room it was like he was a new kid. The sneezing is gone and he is sleeping better. I’m glad for him but sad for me because it really did add a nice romantic ambience to my boudoir ;)

Like them on Facebook.

Follow them on Twitter.

Follow them on Pinterest.

Buy It! Online at the Himalayan Salt Shop.

Win It! One lucky reader is going to win a Himalayan Salt Lamp of their very own right here on Ahh~Mazing Reviews.

stacy-sig

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure
The following two tabs change content below.

Lisa

Owner/Editor at Ahh~Mazing Reviews
I'm a SAHM to my son, Davey who is in preschool for half days 5 days a week. I am a writer, blogger, and brand ambassador. I have been blogging since the days of LiveJournal in the late 90s, and started Ahh~Mazing Reviews in January 2010. My favorite products to review are technology and electronics, items for the home, and toys for my son. You can contact me at Lisa@AhhMazingReviews.com. You can also check out my fitness blog, Don't Look Back - Don't Hold Back.

152 comments for “Himalayan Salt Lamp Review & Giveaway (US Only)

  1. Rhian
    June 12, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    I’d like to try the Himalayan Salt Shot Glass with some tequila!

  2. June 13, 2013 at 2:02 am

    I love the Himalayan Salt Cooking Tiles! Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. JLin
    June 13, 2013 at 2:13 am

    Cylinder Salt Lamp

  4. June 13, 2013 at 2:17 am

    I would like to have the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp

  5. Amanda Boerst
    June 13, 2013 at 2:26 am

    I also like the Natural Salt Crystal Candle Holders

  6. lisa lo
    June 13, 2013 at 2:28 am

    The Four Natural Salt Crystal Candle Holders Pack is another thing I like on their site.

  7. Melissa S
    June 13, 2013 at 2:33 am

    I would also like to try a couple of the salt candle holders.

  8. Josephine D
    June 13, 2013 at 2:33 am

    I think I would also like the bath salts. These salt lamps sound like they would be a great addition to my home for both the health benefits and the fact that they look GREAT! I’m also really interested in the salt cooking tiles; I’m interested in reading more about how they work and learning about whether or not they would work well for me.

  9. Mer
    June 13, 2013 at 2:39 am

    The salt cooking tiles look interesting!

  10. Anne Perry
    June 13, 2013 at 2:46 am

    I like the Natural Shape Salt Candle Holder

  11. Leann L
    June 13, 2013 at 2:49 am

    I want the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp!

  12. Sandy Cain
    June 13, 2013 at 2:50 am

    The Himalayan Salt Cooking Tiles sound exciting to me! http://www.himalayansaltshop.com/salt-cooking-tiles.html

  13. Kimberly Schotz
    June 13, 2013 at 2:59 am

    I would like to try the Salt Cooking Tiles

  14. Tracie Trump
    June 13, 2013 at 3:22 am

    Love the natural shape salt candle holder

  15. Margot C
    June 13, 2013 at 3:23 am

    Those Himalayan Salt Cooking Tiles look pretty interesting

  16. Lisa B.
    June 13, 2013 at 3:37 am

    I also like the Turtle Salt Lamp!

  17. laurie nykaza
    June 13, 2013 at 4:12 am

    Himalayan Salt Lamp (9-11 lbs.)

  18. rebeka deleon
    June 13, 2013 at 4:28 am

    i like the bunny salt lamp. would put it in my little girl’s room

  19. tiffany dover
    June 13, 2013 at 5:15 am

    I’d love the Four Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamps Pack

  20. Denise
    June 13, 2013 at 6:37 am

    Having a Himalayan Salt shot glass in the house could be a fun thing!

  21. Carrie Phelps
    June 13, 2013 at 9:32 am

    I would love to try the Himalayan Bath Salts.

  22. Maryann D.
    June 13, 2013 at 9:57 am

    I would like to try the Himalayan Salt Inhaler

  23. June 13, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    I would like to try their bath salt.

  24. Deborah D
    June 13, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    1 lb. Bag of Himalayan Bath Salt

  25. Sarah O.
    June 13, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Salt cooking tiles

  26. nici r
    June 13, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    I like the salt candle holders

  27. kymi a
    June 13, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    love the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp

  28. KaySue
    June 13, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    I would like to try Himalayan Salt Cooking Tiles.

  29. Amy Honious
    June 13, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    i have always wanted to try one of the salt bricks to cook on and i discovered that this site sells salt tiles-thinner and easier to handle! thanks for such a great giveaway-these lamps are sooooo nice!

  30. Marti Parks
    June 14, 2013 at 12:30 am

    I would like the large bowl of fire salt lamp.

  31. jeanette sheets
    June 14, 2013 at 5:17 am

    salt cooking tiles

  32. Jessica Snow
    June 14, 2013 at 5:52 am

    I really like the teardrop salt lamp.
    Thanks for the giveaway! =)

  33. June 14, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    Salt candle holders!

  34. Robin Wilson
    June 15, 2013 at 2:08 am

    I like the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp

  35. Elena G
    June 15, 2013 at 3:47 am

    I would like to try the Cat Salt Lamp.

  36. Marla
    June 15, 2013 at 5:16 am

    I would like to try the Himalayan Bath Salts! They look relaxing!

  37. Kat
    June 15, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    I like the globe salt lamp

  38. June 16, 2013 at 5:34 am

    I would love to try Himalayan Salt Lamp (13 -17 lbs.) in a natural shape

  39. Denise Taylor
    June 16, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    I love the natural shape salt candle holders :)

  40. Leann Lindeman
    June 17, 2013 at 3:01 am

    I would like to try one of the salt cooking tiles

  41. June 17, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Would also love the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp.

  42. Katrina M
    June 17, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    I would love to have the Large Bowl of Salt Lamp

  43. Christian Alejandro
    June 17, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    I liked the Pyramid Salt Lamp

  44. sharlene caisse
    June 17, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    I like the candle holders

  45. Ann Fantom
    June 17, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    I like the turtle salt lamp.

  46. June 18, 2013 at 2:24 am

    1 kg. Bag of Edible Himalayan Salt

  47. Becky
    June 18, 2013 at 3:22 am

    I’d try the foot detox blocks. I’ve had several surgeries on one of my feet and I’d be curious to see whether it helped.

  48. Jonathan Baker
    June 18, 2013 at 1:30 pm

    I’d like to try their shot glass!

  49. Pamela Halligan
    June 18, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    I like the large bowl of fire salt lamp.

  50. Michelle
    June 18, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    The cooking and bath salts!

  51. Georgia Beckman
    June 20, 2013 at 2:52 am

    OMG! I LOVE these! I would also love to have the large bowl of fire salt lamp. These are fabulous. They’re beautiful to look at & so beneficial!

  52. June 20, 2013 at 3:37 am

    I’d also like to try the Purifying Salt Crystal Bar

  53. Heather
    June 20, 2013 at 4:04 am

    I would love to have the Natural Shape Salt Candle!

  54. John Hutchens
    June 20, 2013 at 8:20 am

    Four Natural Salt Crystal Candle Holders Pack

  55. Jennifer Mae Hiles
    June 20, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    I love the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp!

  56. Dawn Monroe
    June 20, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    I like natural candel holders and the bath salts.

  57. Janine
    June 21, 2013 at 4:10 am

    I’d also like to try the Salt Grinder.

  58. June 21, 2013 at 6:40 am

    I’d also love to have the bowl of fire salt lamp as it’s very pretty as well and another item I would really love to have are the cooking tiles. I’ve heard ALOT about them and would love to try them out. I think these lamps would be great to have in my home. For some reason, it’s very dusty despite being a newhome so if the salt lamp could weight the dust and make it fall that would be great as my hubby has various breathing problems and this sounds like something that would really help him. Thanks for the chance to win!

  59. June 22, 2013 at 2:42 am

    I love the dolphin salt lamp. I’m also interested in the salt inhaler.

  60. Jessica Cox
    June 22, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    I like the Turtle Salt Lamp

  61. June 22, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    I’d like to try the Edible Salt.

  62. Robert Pyszk
    June 23, 2013 at 1:26 am

    I would love to try the salt cooking tiles

  63. denise smith
    June 23, 2013 at 1:26 am

    i would like Three Bedrooms and One Family Room Salt Lamp Pack

  64. Ann Nichols
    June 23, 2013 at 2:42 am

    I have a Himalayan Salt Lamp in my Reflexology treatment room. Love it! I would love to have one for my famliy room, an inhaler, salt bar, I don’t think there is one thing one the site I wouldn’t like to have.

  65. Yolanda
    June 23, 2013 at 3:03 am

    I would love the Elephant Salt Lamp.

  66. Kele Wassum
    June 24, 2013 at 1:17 am

    I would love to try the Himalayan Salt Sole Jar with Wooden Spoon

  67. nickie
    June 25, 2013 at 5:08 am

    Cylinder Salt Lamp

  68. June 25, 2013 at 2:29 pm

    i’d try their himalayan bath salts

  69. Angela Kinder
    June 25, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    I would love to have the Tear Drop Salt Lamp!

  70. Shani
    June 25, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    I’d like the shot glass.

  71. June 25, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    I like the Horse Salt Lamp

  72. June 25, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    i’d like to get these shot glasses they are awesome :)

    http://www.himalayansaltshop.com/salt-shot.html

  73. Nance Meyer
    June 25, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    Too cool! I would love to have the Himalayan Salt Cooking Tiles. Interesting way to cook.

  74. Mary M.
    June 25, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    Large bowl of fire salt lamp

  75. Geoff K
    June 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    I really love the Pillar Salt Candle Holder.

  76. melissa resnick
    June 25, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp

  77. Maxine Higgins
    June 25, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    I’d like to try the bath salts.

  78. Michelle W
    June 25, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    I would like to try the Himalayan Salt Foot Detox Blocks

  79. Holly Chernoff
    June 25, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    I would love the Natural Salt Crystal Candle Holders!

  80. Richard Hicks
    June 25, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    would like to have 1 kg. Bag of Edible Himalayan Salt

  81. June 25, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    I love the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp! And the Four 6-8 lb. Salt Lamps Pack would make a great family gift.

  82. s riches
    June 25, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    I like the Himalayan Salt Sole Jar with Wooden Spoon

  83. Sarah
    June 25, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    I’d like to try the salt cooking tiles.

  84. Samantha Waters
    June 25, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    I’d love to try the cooking tiles! They are very intriguing!

  85. June 25, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    I want to try the 13-17lbs salt lamp

  86. diane therkildsen
    June 25, 2013 at 8:21 pm

    I like the cat salt lamp

  87. Theron Willis
    June 25, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    To share whisky among friends, I’d like to buy three Himalayan Salt Shot Glasses.

    Bottoms up, and hope to win!

  88. david cosgrove
    June 25, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    the shot glass…

  89. harold
    June 25, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    The cooking tiles.

  90. alyce poalillo
    June 25, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    I really like the Tear Drop Salt Lamp

  91. Erika P.
    June 25, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    The Globe Salt Candle Holder

  92. sheila ressel
    June 25, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    purifying salt crystal bar

  93. Kelly D
    June 25, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    I like the Cat Salt Lamp.

  94. Douglas Houston
    June 25, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    I like the salt cooking tiles

  95. Carol
    June 25, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    I like the Horse Salt Lamp

  96. crystal smith
    June 25, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    Id like to try the Himalayan Salt Inhaler- I really was totally unaware salt has so many health benefits! I always thought in terms of “limit your salt intake” and never knew it could be used like this!! Neat

  97. Angela M
    June 25, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    I would love to try the Himalayan Bath Salt.

  98. June 25, 2013 at 10:22 pm

    I’d like any of their Himalayan products. I did some research around Christmas time about it and was hoping I’d get a lamp or candle — but didn’t.

  99. Jim Cabaj
    June 25, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    I would like to try the Himalayan Salt Cooking Tiles! I love to cook and this would be a great item to try out.

  100. Melanie Montgomery
    June 25, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    I wanna try the salt cooking tiles.

  101. June 26, 2013 at 12:02 am

    Oooh I love the Cross Salt Lamp

    Cross Salt Lamp
    Reg: $69.99Sale: $49.99

    and the colors of you blog page ;o)

  102. Serena Powell
    June 26, 2013 at 12:04 am

    I’d like to try the Himalayan Salt Cooking Tiles

  103. polly
    June 26, 2013 at 12:28 am

    I like their heart shape salt lamp

  104. Colleen W
    June 26, 2013 at 12:41 am

    Bath salts for a little ‘me’ time pampering.

  105. shanta spradlin
    June 26, 2013 at 1:55 am

    Himalayan Bath Salt

  106. Christine
    June 26, 2013 at 2:18 am

    the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp

  107. jose benavides
    June 26, 2013 at 2:25 am

    Globe Salt Candle Holder is my favorite…

  108. Linda Kish
    June 26, 2013 at 2:26 am

    I would like to try the Himalayan Bath Salts

  109. krystal wethington
    June 26, 2013 at 3:32 am

    I like the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp

  110. Karrie Millheim
    June 26, 2013 at 3:52 am

    I love the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp..the lamp though is so cool looking!!

  111. Ryan Curtis
    June 26, 2013 at 5:03 am

    A salt candle sounds interesting…

  112. June 26, 2013 at 5:18 am

    I like the Large Bowl Of Fire lamp.

  113. Kelly F
    June 26, 2013 at 6:32 am

    I would like to try the Himalayan Salt Foot Detox Blocks.

  114. dawn cook
    June 26, 2013 at 6:43 am

    Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp

  115. June 26, 2013 at 7:28 am

    i love the sphere one or the large bowl of fire one.

    dani marie ferriza2(at)yahoo(dot)com

  116. June 26, 2013 at 7:40 am

    I also like the Globe Salt Lamp

  117. K.Pugh
    June 26, 2013 at 10:40 am

    I’d love a 9×12 Salt Cooking Tile.
    Thanks for the chance.

  118. Lisa V.
    June 26, 2013 at 11:33 am

    I would like to try the bath salts.

  119. traymona
    June 26, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    I’d like to have the Column Salt Lamp

  120. Mihaela D.
    June 26, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    the Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp :)

  121. Casey H.
    June 26, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    I would like to try the large bowl of fire salt lamp! It looks wonderful!

  122. June 26, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    Large Bowl of Fire Salt Lamp

  123. Homero Gutierrez
    June 26, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    I would love to try the globe salt lamp.

  124. DeeAnn S
    June 26, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    I like the animal line and would like to try the Fish Salt Lamp. Thanks.

  125. Valerie Taylor Mabrey
    June 26, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    natural shape salt candle holders
    vmkids3 at msn dot com

  126. edq143
    June 26, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    I like the globe salt lamp

  127. Lyndsey R.
    June 26, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    I would also like to try the Himalayan Bath Salt.

    lyndsey.rullman at hotmail dot com

  128. Teresa Thompson
    June 26, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    Himalayan Salt Inhaler

  129. June 26, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    Column Salt Lamp

  130. Buddy Garrett
    June 26, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    I would like to try the Pillar Salt Candle Holder.

  131. Lynne T.
    June 26, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    I would like to try the Himalayan Salt Shot Glass.

  132. kelly mcgrew
    June 26, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    i love the bowl lamps and also the candle holders!!!!

  133. mary gardner
    June 26, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    I’d like to have a 9x18x2 Himalayan Salt Cooking Tile

  134. tina reynolds
    June 26, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    I like the turtle salt lamp

  135. June 26, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    I would like to get the Himalayan Salt Grinder.

  136. Deb S
    June 26, 2013 at 9:13 pm

    I like the Himalayan Salt Inhaler

  137. amy deeter
    June 26, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    the Turtle Salt Lamp

  138. PAIGE CHANDLER
    June 26, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    I like the natural salt candle

  139. June 26, 2013 at 10:12 pm

    i would like the dog salt lamp

  140. kathy pease
    June 26, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    I also like the Salt Candle Holders

  141. likwan
    June 26, 2013 at 11:21 pm

    The Horse Salt Lamp looks very nice!

  142. Deborah Wallin
    June 27, 2013 at 12:30 am

    Himalayan Salt Foot Detox Blocks

  143. Ava Ann Chavez
    June 27, 2013 at 1:21 am

    Salt tiles are cool…I’ve read a lot about the benefits of the salt lamps & hoping I win! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  144. Breanne
    June 27, 2013 at 1:35 am

    Purifying Salt Crystal Bar

  145. M
    June 27, 2013 at 1:55 am

    I would love to try the Himalayan bath salts!

  146. Vanessa
    June 27, 2013 at 3:05 am

    Two Bedrooms and One Family Room Salt Lamp Pack

  147. Arcadia drew
    June 27, 2013 at 3:06 am

    The fire salt lamp!

  148. Bryan E.
    June 27, 2013 at 3:06 am

    Thanks for the giveaway…We like the Natural Shape Salt Candle Holder

  149. June 27, 2013 at 3:18 am

    The cooking tiles would be great! These are some very unique products. :-)

  150. Marcy Strahan
    June 27, 2013 at 3:34 am

    I would love to try the 5 lb. Bag of Himalayan Bath Salt Grind: fine

  151. heather c
    June 27, 2013 at 3:51 am

    I’d love to try the Himalayan Salt Cooking Tiles.

  152. Michelle H.
    June 27, 2013 at 3:53 am

    I want to try their Himalayan Salt Foot Detox Blocks.

Leave a Reply