Master Lock Bicycle Lock Review & Giveaway (US Only)

Thank you to Master Lock for providing me with Bicycle Lock, free of charge, for review.  These are my own honest opinions.

Print

Summer is almost here and school is out. What are the two things kid’s like most about summer? Sleeping late and riding their bikes. Bicycle safety is a big issue. When my children learned to ride I made them wear their helmets and even knee and elbow pads. As they have grown I’ve gotten kind of lax in the safety equipment department. There is I price I paid for it too. About $10,000.00. That is the going rate for a helicopter ride from Ripley Mississippi to Memphis Tennessee. My son was about 10 at the time and we lived at the bottom of a rather large hill. He rode his bike, wearing no helmet, to the top of the hill and was coasting down when he lost his balance and hit the pavement. Thankfully my neighbor was outside checking his mail and saw it. Adam lost consciousness on impact and began to seize.  He was bleeding out of both of his ears. It was the scariest time of my life. His too. He doesn’t remember it to this day. He suffered a skull fracture and concussion. He was in LeBonheur Children’s Hospital for two nights. It’s because of situations like this that Master Lock has asked me to share some bicycle safety statistics with you.

JSH&A.Master Lock Bike Safety Infographic FINAL

Thanks to Master Lock we can now keep our bicycles safe.

20130531_140538_wm

Their newest bicycle lock is pretty cool. They sent me a 6′ long 8220D Cable Lock. It is long enough to lock up both of my kids bikes, the fish fryer and the propane tank in my carport. Best of all the lock is a combination word lock. The kids picked a 4 or 5 letter word that was easy for them both to remember, we followed the directions and set the word. It was that simple. Even a do-fuss like me could do it.

20130531_141411_wm

It is easy to use and lightweight and comes with a bracket so those of you who ride to work for even for work can hook up quickly. It is made from a 3/8″ braided steel cable that resists cutting and sawing and is vinyl coated to protect the finish on your bike. The molded outer housing is impact resistant incase you drop it.

Master Lock is a name we can trust. They have been in business since 1921. They make every kind of lock imaginable and even have electronic locks now that require no key or combination. They even have ATV wench brackets. They have been around forever and have adapted and changed with the times and the needs of the public at large. You can’t go wrong with Master Lock in any situation.

Like them on Facebook.

Follow them on Twitter.

Follow them on Pinterest.

Buy It! Get yours today at a local retailer near you. Just about every store carries Master Lock products.

 Win It! One lucky reader is going to win a 8220D Cable Lock from Master Lock.

stacy-sig

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure
The following two tabs change content below.

Lisa

Owner/Editor at Ahh~Mazing Reviews
I'm a SAHM to my son, Davey who is in preschool for half days 5 days a week. I am a writer, blogger, and brand ambassador. I have been blogging since the days of LiveJournal in the late 90s, and started Ahh~Mazing Reviews in January 2010. My favorite products to review are technology and electronics, items for the home, and toys for my son. You can contact me at Lisa@AhhMazingReviews.com. You can also check out my fitness blog, Don't Look Back - Don't Hold Back.

53 comments for “Master Lock Bicycle Lock Review & Giveaway (US Only)

  1. Carolyn Colley
    June 13, 2013 at 11:09 pm

    they have come a long way, the master locks are really nice

  2. alena svetelska
    June 14, 2013 at 2:33 am

    yes they have came along long way,They make every kind of lock imaginable and even have electronic locks now that require no key or combination.

  3. June 14, 2013 at 2:35 am

    its even for digital data too

  4. June 14, 2013 at 2:40 am

    I”m bad with numbers, so I am thrilled to see that Masterlock has evolved from numbers to using words as well. It surely makes remembering the combination much easier than in the old days with the number combination locks.

  5. bella
    June 14, 2013 at 3:53 am

    They are so much better then before,they are.

  6. Trisha W.
    June 14, 2013 at 4:24 am

    I just recently learned that they had expanded into bike locks.

  7. jeanette sheets
    June 14, 2013 at 5:15 am

    they are not only making master lockds standard and they are now making bike locks

  8. Carrie Phelps
    June 14, 2013 at 9:28 am

    They have grown to become the largest global manufacturer and marketer of padlocks.

  9. Lenora Driskel
    June 14, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    They have expanded into automotive locks.

  10. Devon F
    June 15, 2013 at 4:57 am

    They have grown alot! They now have electronic locks!!

  11. Anne Perry
    June 17, 2013 at 3:56 am

    online master lock vault

  12. Christian Alejandro
    June 17, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    They have grown so huge! THey have so many services and locks for just about anything you need a lock for.

  13. sharlene caisse
    June 17, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    amazing how things have changed from the old key locks to todays locks.

  14. Daniel M
    June 17, 2013 at 11:59 pm

    They now have electronic locks too

  15. June 18, 2013 at 12:45 am

    I learned that they have constantly been improving and upgrading since the old locker combination days! Thanks for the giveaway!

  16. laurie nykaza
    June 19, 2013 at 5:48 am

    The Master Lock has evolved from numbers to using words and that is a big improvement

  17. David Haug
    June 20, 2013 at 3:39 am

    THEY MAKE MANY TYPES OF LOCKS INCLUDING ELECTRONIC LOCKS.

  18. June 20, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    I read throught their history, it was very interesting. I seems like they have stayed true to their morals, and beliefs and as a result they have been successful company!

  19. Ronesha
    June 22, 2013 at 2:50 am

    Next year I have to rely on my bike to get to and from school but to my luck I have no way to secure it. After searching for affordable bike locks I came across this giveaway ( lucky me). Hopefully, I win because this would be the perfect device to have for school. Thanks for posting!

  20. June 22, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    I love that you can set your own combination. When I was little I had one for my bicycle when I rode to school. I was completely freaked because I thought I would forget the combination. Now that I have three boys know I will for get a combination unless I make it up myself.

  21. Robert Pyszk
    June 23, 2013 at 1:31 am

    The selection and variety they now have is amazing since their combination lock only days!!

  22. Ronsha
    June 23, 2013 at 1:55 am

    I love how current Master Lock is becoming. They realized that their number locks weren’t favored just as their number and letter locks weren’t. They have realized that letter locks are more like-able than the rest and let me say it was a great decision.

  23. Michele R
    June 25, 2013 at 3:55 am

    In 1990, they went green.

  24. Serge B
    June 25, 2013 at 8:01 am

    I never realized what a variety of locks they had, all I remember are the padlocks

  25. June 25, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    I love how many products they have. It’s crazy.

  26. Richard Hicks
    June 25, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    they have come a long ways having everything from the old key locks to electronic locks. They have developed newer hardened materials to resist cutting

  27. joe
    June 25, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    they were always the best, now they’re even better.

  28. June 25, 2013 at 9:22 pm

    They are bigger than they used to be!

    freebiegoddess03@aol.com

  29. melissa resnick
    June 25, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    they went green

  30. polly
    June 26, 2013 at 12:33 am

    They have grown as a company by how many products they offer now

  31. Colleen W
    June 26, 2013 at 12:48 am

    Word pass codes are far easier to remember than numbers for me.

  32. June 26, 2013 at 5:09 am

    WOW! I am amazed by the products they now offer! Master Lock has always been THE word in locks but those new ones are totally innovative and cool!

  33. Nancy
    June 26, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    Now there is a memory….old locker combination locks:) Haven’t seen one of those in awhile. There new locks are dramatically different and they have so many more products.

  34. Monica P
    June 26, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    They now carry electronic locks!

  35. Kari Flores
    June 26, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    Its amazing that they have digital padlocks now. I remember how frustrating lining those numbers up exactly were, you couldn’t go to fast or you would jack it up. I don’t even know if I could work a combination lock now days.

  36. Gaye M
    June 26, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    MasterLock was founded in 1921 and in 1924 the laminated padlock was invented. Today they are the largest global manufacturer and marketer of padlocks, and continue introducing innovation, quality, and compelling value into their expanding lines of security solutions.

  37. Laurie Leonard
    June 26, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    They now have electronic locks!

  38. kathy pease
    June 26, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    As the largest global manufacturer and marketer of padlocks, we continue to build our founder’s passion for innovation, quality, and compelling value into our expanding lines of security solutions.

  39. Elizabeth B
    June 27, 2013 at 12:35 am

    Wow, they’ve definitely expanded. They now do auto locks and electronic locks, to name a few.

  40. David Sanchez
    June 27, 2013 at 1:16 am

    Normally i’m a Kryptonite guy, but i’m willing to leave my “baby” ,a tricked out 2008 Haro, locked up with this Masterlock. You’ve come a long way baby since your gym locker days! :)

  41. Ava Ann Chavez
    June 27, 2013 at 1:27 am

    They’ve become the largest global manufacturer and marketer of padlocks.

  42. tina madsen
    June 27, 2013 at 2:33 am

    I have been using these locks since I was a kid. Masterlock has grown with the times. One thing has stayed the same, tho. They have always been reliable!!

  43. Marissa M
    June 27, 2013 at 2:39 am

    They now do electronic locks!

  44. June 27, 2013 at 3:33 am

    They have a lock for just about everything, from the original combination lock, to letter combinations, electronic locks and have even made automotive locks

  45. Mihaela D.
    June 27, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    They now have electronic locks :))

  46. melina r
    June 27, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    I see that they offer digital safe deposit boxes for digital data

  47. Michelle Tucker
    June 27, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    They are always “setting new standards for lock design, application and performance” since the company was founded.

  48. tina reynolds
    June 27, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    they have so many products now that protects everything even digital locks which I think are so cool

  49. Karen Gonyea
    June 27, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    They offer digital safe deposit boxes !!

    ktgonyea at gmail.com

  50. Karen Propes
    June 27, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    Masterlock has been around a long time, looks like it went through the wars, battleships. Advertising went to radio, tv and indy car. I’m amazed at how much they have done to keep jobs here, go green and continue to give us the best of the best with the new and the old. That was so interesting, thanks.
    ncjeepster@aol.com

  51. Bryan E.
    June 28, 2013 at 2:31 am

    Thanks for the giveaway…they have gone from keyed Laminated Steel padlocks to the MAGNUM professional, high security line of padlocks, and the new ELECTRONIC COMBINATION PADLOCKS.

  52. likwan
    June 28, 2013 at 4:23 am

    The company has grown tremendously and offers a wide range of security products in addition to combination locks.

Leave a Reply